Don’t Mind Me: The Morality of Mind Reading

Full Disclosure

A mad scientist friend offers you a chip that would allow you to know what the people you’re talking to are thinking. The catch: you can’t turn it off. Do you accept the chip?

This is a prompt by The Daily Post. I thought it was an interesting concept to explore.

Why I Might…

This would be the key to unlocking the mystery of the actual sense of us. Up to now, we have never felt or experienced what it’s like to be in someone else’s consciousness. We have never truly known if they process their surroundings the way we, individually, do.

I saw an interesting video related to this topic. It played around with the idea that we visually might see colors differently. For, we have no way of knowing or truly expressing what color is. You can say that it’s bright or cool, but can you specifically and accurately render an image in another person’s mind who has never even seen color?

And this would take the guesswork out of what someone truly thinks of you. I think that people lie to others at a much higher frequency than we presume.

If I experienced others’ thought, would I be aware that it belonged to another, or would I feel as if it were my own? Would it be as if I was watching it as a spectator, or feel as if I was the actual person?

Would I become wiser than what is humanly possible? With all this new knowledge and perspective, I would be able to utilize the combined memories of many to achieve a paragon of intelligence. In order for you to gain new knowledge, you must first have pre-existing knowledge of how to enhance your mental capacity.

Why I Might Not…

All of these capabilities might not necessarily be beneficial. Would I be considered a separate species, or more evolved counterpart? If only one human has this advantageous trait in the population, this can only mean trouble.

Would this knowledge gained ultimately destroy me as it could go beyond the limits of what human existence can stand?

My Ultimatum: I would deny this offer. As tempting as it may seem, there are too many unforseen risk factors.  

What would you decide?

22 thoughts on “Don’t Mind Me: The Morality of Mind Reading

  1. Pingback: 20 Questions with Lauren Burkitt | Dream & Scheme

  2. Pingback: 20 Questions with Lola Gusman | Dream & Scheme

  3. Pingback: 20 Questions with Jana | Dream & Scheme

  4. Pingback: 20 Questions with Ru Chan | Dream & Scheme

  5. Pingback: 20 Questions with Nic Gustafsson | Dream & Scheme

  6. Pingback: 20 Questions with Liz The Green Spirit | Dream & Scheme

  7. Pingback: 20 Questions with Sonja Flay | Dream & Scheme

  8. Pingback: 20 Questions with Kasey Michelle | Dream & Scheme

  9. Pingback: 20 Questions with Jade Huang | Dream & Scheme

  10. Pingback: 20 Questions with Sarita Cohren | Dream & Scheme

  11. Pingback: 20 Questions with Sarita Cohen | Dream & Scheme

  12. I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this site.
    I’m hoping to view the same high-grade blog posts from you later
    on as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own blog now 😉

    Like

  13. Hello excellent blog! Does running a blog like this require a
    large amount of work? I’ve no knowledge of computer programming but I
    had been hoping to start my own blog in the near future.

    Anyhow, should you have any suggestions or tips for new blog owners please share.
    I understand this is off subject however I simply needed to ask.

    Thank you!

    Like

    • Hi, thanks for commenting! A blog on WordPress is relatively easy to set-up, and there is great support from the WP community to help resolve any tech issues you might have! It’s maintaining the blog that is the hard part, especially if you have a busy schedule.

      For those starting out, I reccomend getting inspired by other bloggers and trying to find topics that matter to you to write about. Make sure that you are passionate about a blog before commiting!

      Hope this helped,
      Dream & Scheme

      Like

  14. After I initially commented I appear to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on every time
    a comment is added I recieve four emails with the exact same comment.
    There has to be a means you can remove me from that service?
    Thanks!

    Like

  15. Pingback: Don't Mind Me: The Morality of Mind Reading | D...

  16. Pingback: any supposed utopia is really dystopia: there’s no great society | eastelmhurst.a.go.go

  17. Loving the balanced approach you’ve taken, looking at pros and cons.
    I didn’t even consider that it could answer questions about if and how experiences are subjective to each individual.

    Like

    • Thank you, when I first saw this prompt I wondered if I would be able to differentiate my thoughts and other’s. I wondered if the knowledge I gained would change me as an individual.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I do believe we think in our first language, so communication would be hard between people of two different tongues. However, perhaps through mind reading you could learn their language (similar to how we first learned to speak as babies, through visual and audial cues of our surroundings). I also wonder how we can describe the actual experience of thinking.

        Like

Have something to say?

