20 Questions with Sarita Coren

For the first “game” of 20 Questions, I decided to play with one of my favorite green beauty bloggers-Sarita Coren of Peace on the Skin & Peace Within. She has such a calm, contemplative outlook on life that is reflected in her personality. Check out what she had to say about finding your identity and going green!


Behind the name…
So…what does “Peace on the Skin & Peace Within” have to do with green beauty? This quote by F. Scott Fitzgerald sums up true beauty to me:


1. If you had to choose one word to describe yourself, what would it be?

Evolving…

2. How would you define the word ‘perfect’?

Without flaws, shortcomings, or defects; conforming to an ideal; accurate or correct in every detail; thorough, complete, pure. (I admit, I decided to look it up to give the perfect definition). As far as people, being perfectly imperfect is the only achievable goal.

3. What is your biggest beauty tip?

Go with products and looks that you truly love and make you feel good.

4. What made you decide to go green?

Lots of reading and research! Once I started making healthier choices when it came to food and exercise, it made sense to start questioning what I was using ON my body too.

All my greener choices stem from a desire to live consciously, to treat the planet with respect and gratitude, and out of a calling to leave beautiful gifts for our future generations, not a wasteland.

5.What has been the hardest part about making the switch?

It was not mainstream at all when I started making the switch 20 years ago with only a handful of websites that sold green beauty products. It’s an abundantly gorgeous garden now! Today, the part that is hard is weeding through misinformation and false labels. Sometimes it feels like I have to be a chemist to sort through the ingredients lists or I spend hours trying to research the “All Natural” claim on a food or beauty item. If companies would be held accountable for their statements and be fully transparent, we would not have these issues.

6. What have you learned through the process?

I’ve learned to “go within” more and more and follow my intuition and not the latest study. There’s the information highway and the misinformation highway and sometimes it’s hard to distinguish between the two of them. Some things can’t be explained through science and research with one article contradicting the findings of another or only revealing the partial conclusions that support their goals.

I go with that still voice inside me that tells me when something does or doesn’t feel right and have learned to trust what it tells me.

7. What are some of your favorite green beauty finds?

Smells, textures, and result-driven formulas are equally important to me. Of course they’re all subjective. I have a massive list of products that I’ve tried but a highly curated list of products that I reach for often. Since I’m constantly testing new products (with some that may hit my favorites list soon), I don’t like to commit to specific products.

That said, I will say that Stark Skincare, ZWEENA, Blissoma, Osmia Organics, One Love Organics, Josh Rosebrook, Sevani Botanica, No Bull Beauty, Kahina Giving Beauty, (Sure you want me to go on?), Silk Naturals, Wild Honey Apothecary, Vered Botanicals, rms beauty, Ilia Beauty, Rahua, Yarok, Leahlani Skincare, Laurel Whole Plant Organics, Jacq’s Organics, Bfree Organics, Greenbody, Cecilia Wong Skin Care, R.L. Linden, Kenza International Beauty, (I can still keep going) W3LL People, Lauren Brooke Cosmetiques, and Alima Pure are the cream of the crop. I’m sure that I’m missing some.

I’ve been blessed to meet or interact with many of the founders of these brands and can say that they’re the real deal. They are super special people on conscious quests to change the face of beauty and green business practices every single day. I absolutely adore them!

8. What was the hardest product to replace?

Mascara (loving W3LL People and Ilia Beauty now), deodorant (I’ve got a whole list of deodorants that work today), and shampoo (I’m still in love with Chaz Dean’s Cleansing Conditioner and can’t find a replacement because it’s so unique!)

9. How has this journey changed your overall health?

I don’t remember the last time I got sick. How’s that?

10. How would you recommend getting started to non-toxic newbies?

Find a friend and make it fun. Start with the first product that you finish and find its non-toxic replacement or switch out the product that you use the most all over your body or on your face. Become aware of what textures, scents, and consistencies you love then spend a little time at Whole Foods or a health food store (or if you’re lucky a green beauty store) playing with the testers. Read green beauty blogs that review products to get an idea about how other people feel about those products before you spend a lot on them.

11. What is your favorite ingredient?

Roses.

12. What is a quote you live by?

I love quotes and appreciate many but don’t live by any. I’m constantly evolving so what speaks to me one day, may no longer resonate with me another day. But the first quote that popped into my mind was this one:

And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom. ~ Anais Nin

Also, a nything by Einstein, Winnie the Pooh (the original), and Monty Python.

13. If you could only leave the house with one product, what would it be?

Dr. Hauschka’s Coverstick. Hands down.

14. Where do you see yourself ten years from now?

Meditating on a mountain.

15. What is one piece of advice you’d tell your 13-year old self?

Love yourself as you are. It’s all going to turn out great. Oh! And give up the Clearasil. It’s going to dry your skin and won’t do much for your zits anyway.

16. If you were able to read minds, would you? Why or why not?

No way! I’ve got enough of a hassle dealing with my own monkey mind. Why would I want to deal with everyone else’s too?

17. What is the last thing you Googled?

The animal totem of the palmetto bug. No joke.

18. What is the most difficult part about blogging?

Sometimes the words flow and sometimes they don’t. I have to “feel” a post in order to put my energy behind it. That’s a royal pain. Why can’t it be easy?!

19. What is your favorite part about it?

Connecting with other bloggers and being part of the green beauty community. It has been an amazing experience overall. What a supportive group of people! Many are becoming good friends.

20. How do you stay positive?

I don’t require myself to stay positive. I think that sets a person up for failure because part of the way this world works is through the existence of polarities. We can not know light if we don’t experience darkness.

Sometimes I hit lows and feel like things aren’t going the way that I’d like. Then the next thing you know, that feeling passes and I see why the experience had to happen to usher in a new awareness. It’s all part of our growth here. So I’m learning to flow with my negative moments and enjoy my positive ones even more.

(On a positive note: I absolutely love your questions. This was a lot of fun to answer. Thanks for the opportunity!)


Thank you Sarita for your inspiration and insights! If you like this post, check out her blog, and stay tuned for more 20 Questions.

8 thoughts on “20 Questions with Sarita Coren

  1. Pingback: Raw Skin Ceuticals BB Creme Foundation | Dream & Scheme

  2. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: Frost & Snowy Evenings | Dream & Scheme

  3. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: Wise Words | Dream & Scheme

  4. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: Are We There Yet? | Dream & Scheme

  5. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: My Autumnal Wishlist | Dream & Scheme

    • Thanks! Yes, Sarita truly is an inspiration, I’m so glad I had the opportunity to interview her. And I loved your “Spill It” post on her blog, lovely product suggestions.

      Like

  6. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: How I Find My Inspiration | Dream & Scheme

Have something to say?

