Weekly Wrap-Up: Work in Progress

I was inspired by an interview with Sarita, specifically where in response to the question, “If you had to choose one word to describe yourself, what would it be?”, she said: Evolving.

This such a great way to simply state our existence as humans. We are contstanly changing and adapting, becoming a part of our surroundings, as it embodies us.

We all are works in progress, striving for perfection in an imperfect world.

We are flawed, enigmatic creatures trying to better ourselves or achieve success. But the main goal, has been to live each day with hope and happiness. I discussed this even more in my personal thoughts from this week’s Thursday Thoughts.


My favorite reads of this week…

Photo Courtesy: A CUP OF JO/30 Rock

15 Career Tips From Smart Women @ A CUP OF JO
These quotes are hilarious and inspiring! Its amazing to see what women have been able to accomplish, even when the odds are against them. These capable, independent women know what they want in life, and how they’re going to get there.

I love women who are bosses and who don’t constantly worry about what their employees think of them.

I love women who don’t ask, “Is that OK?” after everything they say.

I love when women are courageous in the face of unthinkable circumstances, like my mother when she was diagnosed with stage IV pancreatic cancer.

Or like Gabrielle Giffords writing editorials for the New York Times about the cowardice of Congress regarding gun laws and using phrases like “mark my words” like she is Clint Eastwood.

How many women say stuff like that?

Mindy Kaling

Fingerprint Words @ Slate
I am guilty of noting the ubiquity of things and often making a compilation of objects. I describe many things I fancy as being insightful and having a beautiful aesthetic. I definitely have more, probably most of them flying under my (sometimes) keen radar. Words have always spoken to me, some more than others.

Meet the Joyologist: How one woman created the coolest job ever @ Well+Good
How amazing is this job? Even the name sounds fun. I think that if I weren’t a blogger-writer-artist-designer-environmentalist-beauty addict-health nut-science nerd-filmmaker-budding entrepreneur, this would be what I would do.

That, or a traveling writer. Who designs functional, fashionable pieces on the side.
And works on research papers that help the world.

And makes inspiring documentaries about her travels, life, causes, stories, and epiphanies.

Oh, and owns an online shop currating natural, ethical, and beautiful products.
Gosh, I have too many interests!

Read Slowly to Benefit Your Brain and Cut Stress @ The Wall Street Journal
Remember when silent reading was a mandatory part of the school curriculum? Chances are your children won’t. Here’s how it’ll affect us.

Have you lost your patience to “slow read”? It’s sad that this is how we have to describe it now, that reading has become such a struggle to be deemed this phrase. However, younger generations actually read more than older generations.

What you need to know about #NYFW @ corals + cognacs
Every answer you have about what a fashion week is like, answered. To check out some of my favorite looks from Fashion Week, take a peek at my Fierce Fashion Pinterest Board.


My favorite pins of this week…














2 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-Up: Work in Progress

  1. Pingback: 14 Favorite Posts of 2014: Journal | Dream & Scheme

  2. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: How I Find My Inspiration | Dream & Scheme

Have something to say?

