20 Questions with Sonja Flay

20 Questions with Sonja Flay | Dream & Scheme

The beautiful, bright blogger Sonja Flay from Life in Blush was nice enough to play of 20 Questions-a series on Dream & Scheme featuring knowledgeable and inspiring woman discussing their views on beauty, love, and life. You’ll definitely have a #girlcrush moment after reading this!


Behind the name…

Coco Chanel once said “a girl should be two things: classy and fabulous” and it’s my hope that life in blush not only serves as light and fun break in your day, but that it also inspires you to try classy and fabulous new ideas, and allows you to access your internal glow, self-love and inherent beauty that makes you the gorgeous human that you are.


1. If you had to choose one word to describe yourself, what would it be?

Fancy pants! (okay, that’s actually two.)

2. How would you define the word ‘perfect’?

I wouldn’t. I don’t believe anyone or anything is truly ‘perfect’ because that means you have stopped evolving and learning about yourself as a person. I think someone’s imperfections are what make them unforgettable.

3. What is your biggest beauty tip?

Spend as much time researching what goes into your body as you do figuring out what to put on it.

Think about a painter for a moment, even if they’re using a high quality paint, their final masterpiece will never look as good when the canvas they’re working with is inferior. Same goes for us.

If our internal health is imbalanced then no matter how expensive the makeup product you’re using is it will never look as good until we find that harmony. Then anything we apply will only serve to enhance the beauty already radiating outwards.

4. What made you decide to go green?

My mother. She’s been a powerful force for me my whole life, teaching me how to honour the body I’ve been given with a lifestyle that best reflects these ideals.

5. What has been the hardest part about making the switch?

I can’t really think of any because I’ve never viewed it as a hardship. Every day I learn something new about how we thrive both internally and externally with elements found in nature so it’s that excitement that has kept me from looking back once I made the switch. To quote the founders of CAMP Skincare: “Those who truly thrive know how to access the powerful plants, flowers, roots and seeds around them. When we respectfully and skillfully unlock these treasures, our journey becomes effortlessly beautiful.” (Check out Sonja’s review of CAMP’s beautiful Dreamcatcher Youth Serum.)

6. What have you learned through the process?

Do your own research! There’s so much information and misinformation out there that you need to take everything back to the basics and then build from there. Oh, and always trust what your gut tells you, I’ve found it’s usually never wrong.

7. What are some of your favorite green beauty finds?

Ah, how much time do you have?! But okay, if I had to whittle it down to the gems I can’t and won’t live without then it would be: Kjaer Weis and Ilia Beauty for makeup; May Lindstrom, Living Libations and Province Apothecary for skincare; and The 7 Virtues and Christine Chanter for perfumes.

8. What was the hardest product to replace?

Gel/liquid liner.

9. How has this journey changed your overall health?

Absolutely! My skin is clearer, I have more energy, my post-workout recovery times are shorter and I just feel right if that makes sense.

10. How would you recommend getting started to non-toxic newbies?

Don’t try to figure everything out at once. Overhauling you entire skincare and makeup regime can be pretty overwhelming so start slow; start by researching how to replace your cleanser or moisturizer with an option that addresses the needs of your skin with non-toxic ingredients.

11. What is your favorite ingredient?

Oh, I don’t if I can pick just one! There are too many like borage seed oil, black cumin seed oil, tamanu oil and camellia seed oil… I could go on and on!

12. What is a quote you live by?

The key to immortality is first living a life worth remembering.

13. If you could only leave the house with one product, what would it be?

Lipstick!

14. Where do you see  yourself ten years from now?

Great question! I love being a purveyor of information on green beauty and how to rewild your health so I definitely want to make that my full-time passion; what form will that take exactly? Not sure. That answer hasn’t been revealed to me just yet.

15. What is one piece of advice you’d tell your 13-year old self?

My 13 year old self was so timid and filled with such self-doubt that if I could go back in time I would tell her: Actually you can. And you will.

16. If you were able to read minds, would you? Why or why not?

Nope! I don’t need or want to know what other people are thinking about me or others. It brought Sookie (from True Blood) nothing but heartache. 😉

17. What is the last thing you Googled?

World map! I love to travel so I was dreaming about what place I would visit next year.

18. What is the most difficult part about blogging?

Finding the time. My day job keeps me pretty busy so I usually find myself coming home from work, eating dinner and then turning my attention to what I want to talk about the next day.

19. What is your favorite part about it?

It allows me to express my creative side! It also feeds my need to want to spread the random knowledge I accumulate on a daily basis. 🙂

20. How do you stay positive?

I surround myself with people who feed my positivity, love me for my imperfections and never judge me for being who exactly I was meant to be, even if it means going against the social grain sometimes.


If you like this, check out her blog-just a fair warning, you might get addicted to it with all her beautiful posts and a plethora of hilarious gifs. Just saying.

4 thoughts on “20 Questions with Sonja Flay

  1. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: I Choose You | Dream & Scheme

  2. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: What I’ve Been Loving | Dream & Scheme

  3. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: Rain | Dream & Scheme

  4. Pingback: #Obsessed Beauty Finds | Dream & Scheme

Have something to say?

