The Black Swan Costume

Boys and girls of every age
Wouldn’t you like to see something strange…

Halloween is one of my favorite holidays! Children (and adults) get to dress up, play, and eat too much candy. This year, I decided to put a little more effort and DIY juice into my costume and did some brainstorming. Instantly, I thought of the stunning Rodarte creation in The Black Swan.

Enigmatic and alluring, it embodies the character’s dark change preparing for the role and striving for perfection.

Photo Courtesy: Dailymail.co.uk


What You’ll Need:

  • Black corset (you could also use a leotard or tank top)
  • Black tutu
  • Black feathers
  • Rhinestones (preferably of differing sizes)
  • Black tulle (optional)
  • Hot glue gun + sticks
  • Black paint

For my costume, I decided to alter it so it was a bit more modest. Though, the original one is so gorgeous. I chose to use a corset dress for mine, but you can easily DIY your own corset and tulle skirt

If you don’t have the time to get crafty, I’ve been obsessed with Etsy lately and found some great tulle skirts while I was browsing. Check them out here, here, and here.


The Corset

I was trying to figure out a way to have the embellishments be only temporary so I could re-wear the dress. I came up with the idea of creating a tulle wrap around the bodice that I could attach anything I wanted to on. If you want to sew the sparkly extras directly on though, that works too.

Try arranging the feathers on the left cup to get an idea of how you want it to look. Then, start gluing them. Quick tip: The first row should be closest to the neckline and each row should be stacked on top until you get to the bottom of the cup. This’ll give you a more polished look. And glue a couple larger rhinestones on top to finish it off.

Moving on to the other cup, this is where you should start configuring the rhinestones. Play around and make sure you’re satisfied with the placement. Then, just add the glue. You can even add some rhinestones near the bottom of the skirt, like on the original dress.

A sketch of my interpretation of the costume.


The Crown

Find a close-up picture of the crown and ready you glue gun. I got the inspiration to create the intricate crown this way from this post, and it turned out great!

All you need to do is trace over the crown’s design with hot glue, let it dry, and paint black. Then, you can add some rhinestones for an extra pizzazz. I simply glued it to an old black plastic headband I had laying around. But, you can attach it to a ribbon or tiara, whatever you’d like.

An easier alternative is to just buy a pretty tiara and wear that. You can paint it black if you want, but you really don’t have to.


Also, a fun costume idea you could do with your best friend or S.O. utilizing this would be The Black Swan and The White Swan. You’ll definitely win the Couple’s Costume Contest!

Hope some of you found this post helpful! Tell me in the comments below if you want to see more Halloween posts or DIYs in general. Stay tuned for the upcoming post on how to replicate the Black Swan makeup.

Happy Halloween!
Megan

P.S. I’d love to see what y’all are wearing for Halloween as well, send me pics!

3 thoughts on “The Black Swan Costume

  1. Pingback: 14 Favorite D&S Posts of 2014: Beauty | Dream & Scheme

  2. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: Appreciation of Fashion | Dream & Scheme

  3. Pingback: The Black Swan Makeup | Dream & Scheme

Have something to say?

