20 Questions with Liz The Green Spirit

You may already know her from her brilliant blog, Smells Like a Green Spirit (I love the Nirvana song reference!). I always enjoy reading about her Little Gems and lovely reviews.


1. If you had to choose one word to describe yourself, what would it be?

Curious, as in thirsty for knowledge. I love learning, and discovering more about the world we live in and its people.

2.How would you define the word ‘perfect’?

Non existant.

I don’t really believe in perfection, more in constant learning and perpetual growth.

3. What is your biggest beauty tip?

Control your stress level. Stress triggers all types of inflammations. A healthier mind set will have a positive impact on your physical appearance. I know it’s easier said than done, but one can always try.

4. What made you decide to go green?

I don’t think there was a specific turning point. My parents were already into organic food when I was born, and my interest in a greener lifestyle grew from that. However when chronic sinusitis started in my teens (antiobiotics galore), and later on, a sudden case of hair loss. I decided to find a gentler and more natural solution to my problems, since I didn’t see any improvements with “conventional” treatments.

5. What has been the hardest part about making the switch?

For me, it’s been finding the ingredients that worked best for my skin. There’s obviously some trial and error. Not everything will work, even if it’s all natural.

6. What have you learned through the process?

If I have to pick one, it would be patience, results don’t come overnight. They arrive slowly, but surely. Going green is more of a long-term thinking plan. I wrote a post about it called What going green taught me, where I develop in more detail how I’ve changed through the process.

7. What are some of your favorite green beauty finds?

Gressa Minimalistic Serum Foundation, and lip boosts. Ravenscourt Apothecary soaps, Deep Steep bubble bath, Indie Lee squalane oil, de Mamiel rosey lip balm, Odacité Pure Elements serums, Yuli Halcyon cleanser, Ilia lipsticks, the list is long…

8. What was the hardest product to replace?

I lucked out I guess, because I didn’t feel like I struggled to find eco alternatives. I started right away with green makeup, which also made things easier. However, I’m still looking for a great eyeliner pen.

9. How has this journey changed your overall health?

In the long term, through a more balanced diet and a cleaner routine, I feel less tired, and I was able to manage my sinus infections; they occur less frequently. Since solely turning to green cosmetics, my face is more calm. I still have hormonal breakouts, but nothing too dramatic. My hair is looking much better as well, thanks to oil treatments.

10. How would you recommend getting started to non-toxic newbies?

Follow green blogs you’re drawn to, do your research (books/online), take small steps (start changing for instance your lipstick, and so on) and look for eco and green beauty stores with a great curated selection.

11. What is your favorite ingredient?

Oh it’s tough to pick just one, but I’ll go with Peppermint. I’ve always loved cooling, minty flavours, and Peppermint can be used for so many different purposes. It’s high in minerals, vitamins A and C, folate, and loaded with fiber. Works wonders for hair, skin, and digestion.

12. What is a quote you live by?

I don’t particularly have a mantra, but I love this quote from Roald Dahl:

“A person who has good thoughts cannot ever be ugly. You can have a wonky nose and a crooked mouth and a double chin and stick-out teeth, but if you have good thoughts it will shine out of your face like sunbeams and you will always look lovely.”

13. If you could only leave the house with one product, what would it be?

Makeup : lipstick (most presumably Ilia’s Arabian Knights) /skincare : a facial oil with SPF (I’m currently loving Blue Labelle Moringa raspberry seed oil)

14. Where do you see yourself ten years from now?

Hopefully healthy and happy.

15. What is one piece of advice you’d tell your 13-year old self?

You can’t please everyone, no matter what you do. So don’t be upset or hurt, just be yourself.

16. If you were able to read minds, would you? Why or why not?

No, I feel like it would be too confusing, my head would go crazy reading all the thoughts crossing people’s minds. If I could have a superpower, it would be either teleportation or healing powers.

17. What is the last thing you Googled?

I’m a little ashamed, but I spent an unhealthy amount of time looking for swatches of lip pencils haha. But hey, it’s for the blog. 😉

18. What is the most difficult part about blogging?

Being consistent/time management. Finding the right balance between real/daily life and virtual life.

19. What is your favorite part about it?

So many things I enjoy about blogging, but connecting with people, and learning more about everyone’s journey is pretty awesome.

20. How do you stay positive?

I stay positive by trying to keep things in perspective, and if I go through a rough patch, I remember myself that it’s not permanent. After the rain, there’s a rainbow.

I think of all the people I love. I breathe, I read and I try to unwind. I look for adorable animal pictures on Instagram. The latter always does the trick. 😉


Find her on:

Smells Like a Green Spirit
Facebook
Twitter | @elisamin
Instagram | @lizthegreenspirit

7 thoughts on “20 Questions with Liz The Green Spirit

  1. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: What I’ve Been Loving | Dream & Scheme

  2. Liz you are a darling . I loved each and every answer . and whenever you mentioned lipstick I had a big smile on my face ..I know you love lipsticks so much . you are beautiful inside out 😍😘

    Like

  3. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: Carpe Diem | Dream & Scheme

  4. Wonderful gorgeous Liz! Loved reading your answers 🙂 You forgot to say that you’re also very generous and considerate…and pretty amazing at picking out lipstick colours for people 😉 Great interview!

    Like

Have something to say?

