The “Fall in Love” Tag

I’m very excited about this post, because it’s the first tag (of sorts) that I’ve created, and done on this blog. Recently, I was reading this fascinating New York Times article entitled, “To Fall in Love With Anyone, Do This“.

Excerpt: More than 20 years ago, the psychologist Arthur Aron succeeded in making two strangers fall in love in his laboratory. Last summer, I applied his technique in my own life, which is how I found myself standing on a bridge at midnight, staring into a man’s eyes for exactly four minutes.

In this social experiment, one of the tasks was to answer 36 questions. I was intrigued by this idea and fellow blogger Victoria’s post answering the questions herself. I thought it would be fun to answer them too and tag other bloggers to as well!

And, how fitting this is with Valentine’s Day coming up. I’ve edited the questions down to 23 for the purpose of this post. Let’s begin!


1. Given the choice of anyone in the world, whom would you want as a dinner guest?
This is a very good question. I think that Oprah Winfrey is an obvious choice, but I’m also interested by the “hippie-labeled actress” Shailene Woodley. She seems like a very intelligent, interesting being who I could learn how to make my own natural ailments from.


2. Would you like to be famous? In what way?
I ponder this but I often resolve against it just because of what the obsessive, excessive image of celebrity is today.

We put these people on a pedestal, and I don’t feel like I could gracefully endure the intense breach of privacy and pressure that comes with it. We idealize celebritites, but at the same time try to pick out every flaw and mistake. I wrote a bit more on fame here.


3. Before making a telephone call, do you ever rehearse what you are going to say? Why?
It’s actually not very often that I have telephone calls vs. e-mailing and video calls. But, I do find that I go over how I want to start the conversation in my head and a few more general points I want to touch on of this phone call is of signifigance.


4. What would constitute a “perfect” day for you?
Wow, ‘perfect’ for me is always changing and not fully obtainable. I think my ideal day would be one spent just going out and really experiencing the world. A day where I could spend it creatively and expansively.


5. When did you last sing to yourself? To someone else?
Fun fact: I sing pretty often. In the shower, in my room, in the car. The last time would probably be the latter when “Fancy” came on. It’s such an infectious tune.


6. If you were able to live to the age of 90 and retain either the mind or body of a 30-year-old for the last 60 years of your life, which would you want?
I would choose mind as I feel this is harder to maintain than your body and intelligence is something I value. Then again, would this mind simply operate as a 30-year old, but continue to gain the knowledge of a 90-year old, or would it stay the same?


7. Do you have a secret hunch about how you will die?
No, actually. I’ve come to terms with the impermanent nature of life, but I’ve never actually thought about how I might die.


8. For what in your life do you feel most grateful?
Life itself. The gift of getting to experience the full spectrum of emotion in this sensory, expansive world.


9. If you could change anything about the way you were raised, what would it be?
My mother taught me to see everything from an unbiased perspective and that to dream big, you must also be willing to perservere to get there.

My father instilled a strong work ethic and sense of humility into me, traits that I am grateful to him for. If I changed anything, I would not be the way I am today.


10. In four sentences, tell your life story in as much detail as possible.
At a young age, I became an ardent reader, writer, and creator, quick to learn and quick to anger. My curiousity to understand and innovate continues to inspire me today. I have grown personally through experiences of loss, love, and depression. My headstrong nature is both a blessing and a curse.


11. If you could wake up tomorrow having gained any one quality or ability, what would it be?
If it could be anything, maybe the ability to code or hack. Something useful and help me in this modern world permeated by technology.


12. If a crystal ball could tell you the truth about yourself, your life, the future or anything else, what would you want to know?
I think that knowning my future would consequently alter it. I might want to know more about how I am percieved though, and if I am ever unwittingly rude or loud so I could change that.


13. Is there something that you’ve dreamed of doing for a long time? Why haven’t you done it?
I’ve always dreamed of creating a full-length movie. I think the main restraints for me are monetarily, timing, and opportunity. I’m so busy with other activities at the moment. I’ll try to plan for it in the future though.


14. What is the greatest accomplishment of your life?
I’d like to think that this something I will continue striving for. That I will constantly challenge and improve myself.


15. What do you value most in a friendship?
I value respect, trust, and candor. I feel that you become a different person around different people, and those that bring out the best version of myself are the ones I tend to stick with.


16. What is your most treasured memory?
It’s always a predicament when I have to choose favorites. I’d have to say it would be a memory of my Dad and I listening to music at night. He’d play a song he enjoyed and would ask me what instruments I heard. It is a very peaceful and fond memory of mine.


17. What is your most terrible memory?
My Mom likes to say that I drown out memories I find unpleasant because I never seem to recall them. Well I wish this was the case for one particular memory of mine!

One time I had written a love poem when I was younger, and upon discovery, my friend proceeded to read it aloud. I was mortified.


18. If you knew that in one year you would die suddenly, would you change anything about the way you are now living? Why?
I hope that I’ve been living my life already where I would have nothing to regret. I guess I’d travel or go sky-diving or something like that. Something adventurous that I haven’t gotten the chance to do.


19. What does friendship mean to you?
Friendship is a mutual respect between two people. It’s when you care for and can rely on each other.


20. What roles do love and affection play in your life?
I think these are very important when it comes to families and friends. I want to surround myself with people I care about and who reciprocate that affection.


21. Share an embarrassing moment in your life.
I could write a whole book of all the embarrassing moments I’ve experienced, maybe even a series. I’ll just share the one above for now.


22. What, if anything, is too serious to be joked about?
I feel like we too easily joke about many things, whether it be to try to lighten the mood or out of ignorance. I think that certain spiritual views are too serious to joke about, out of respect. You may not agree, but there is a difference between being honest and being rude.


23. Your house, containing everything you own, catches fire. After saving your loved ones, pets, and neccesities, you have time to safely make a final dash to save any one item. What would it be? Why?
I think it would be my journal. I keep many of my thoughts, ideas, and writing in it and it would be something I would definitely miss if I didn’t grab it.



I tag Peace On The Skin & Peace Within (Sarita), Short, Small & Sweet (Ru), Small Bits of Loveliness (Jana), Nephriticus (Jade), and Life in Blush (Sonja).

Good luck ladies! All you have to do is answer the questions and tag 3-5 other people. And make sure to link back to this original post so I can compile a list of all the people who participated.



The Lovely Ladies Who’ve Joined in on The Fun…

Life in Blush
Check out Sonja’s refreshingly candid responses and hilarious gifs.

Frivolous Girl
I found Isabel’s responses especially fascinating.

Eighth + Wild
Check out Tina’s thoughtful responses and insights on healing.

The Blissful Mind
Thank you Catherine for sharing your underdog high school drill team experience.

The Green Product Junkie
The lovely Katie shares her obsession with kale chips and the importance of honesty in friendship.

Beautycalypse
Favorite Quote: The power of those Qs is in simulating an intimate situation, emulating the “stranger on the train” feeling, sharing ideas and memories that make you drop your armour and be the naked you, authentic and vulnerable.

12 thoughts on “The “Fall in Love” Tag

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday Dream & Scheme! | Dream & Scheme

  2. Pingback: Soul Detox: The *Fall In Love* Questionnaire | BEAUTYCALYPSE >>> Finding Ethical Excellence

  3. Pingback: The Fall In Love Tag - The Blissful Mind

  4. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: No Return | Dream & Scheme

  5. Pingback: The “Fall in Love” Tag | Frivolous Girl

  6. Pingback: the ‘fall in love’ tag | life in blush

Have something to say?

