20 Questions with Lauren Burkitt

Recently, I had the chance to interview the lovely Lauren Burkitt from The Fig’s Heart.

It was love at first sight when I happened upon her blog and I was instantly enamored by her beautiful photography.

Read on to find out her beauty tips, skincare philosophy, and favorites.


1. If you had to choose one word to describe yourself, what would it be?

I would have to say loyal. I stay true to what I believe in. Whether that’s a friendship, a brand, or a personal goal.


2. How would you define the word ‘perfect’?

Something that is completely balanced on all levels in its natural state.


3. What is your biggest beauty tip?

Less is more. Always.

When it comes to beauty I’m more of a skincare enthusiast so I think glowing skin is the best makeup anyone could wear.

Take the time to take care of your skin, it will make everything else easier.


4. What made you decide to go green?

It seemed like an obvious step for me. I try to eat as clean as possible and I avoid chemicals in most things like household products, etc.

I was drawn to a lot of green skincare companies and once I started learning more about the green-beauty world I couldn’t wait to switch over.

I don’t know why I didn’t do this earlier. I think I was under the impression that a lot of the natural products wouldn’t match up to the quality of the bigger mainstream brands.

In reality, most of the natural makeup options are far higher quality and can really hold their own when it comes down to pigment, lasting power, and overall wear.


5. What has been the hardest part about making the switch?

Replacing everything. Buying a new foundation is one thing, but fully eliminating toxins from a beauty bloggers complete makeup and skincare collection doesn’t happen overnight. To fully make the switch it took about 10 months.


6. What have you learned through the process?

So much! I’ve learned about some incredible ingredients and how to incorporate them into both my diet and beauty routine.

There are also a lot of bad ingredients that are hidden in more products that I would have ever imagined.

I’ve learned some fun things too like oil cleansing, oil pulling, and how to whip together a face mask in the kitchen.

I’ve also learned that the green-beauty community is like a big extended family that I didn’t even know I had until the end of last year. That was the best surprise!


7. What are some of your favorite green beauty finds?

This will come as no surprise to anyone who follows my blog. I’m a big Leahlani Skincare fan. I won’t go a day without her Kauai Coconut Body Butter and Champagne Face Serum.

One of my favorite products of all time is the RMS Living Luminizer. It’s truly my holy grail. The Jane Iredale Pressed Powder with SPF is another daily staple for me. Tata Harper’s Hydrating Floral Essence and Resurfacing Mask are such a treat! One last thing, have you seen Nudus lipsticks!? Wow.


8. What was the hardest product to replace?

Deodorant and perfumes. I have tried a lot of natural deodorants and some work better than others but I just don’t have the level of trust I want with them. That’s an issue we’re still trying to work out…

I’ve come across some great natural perfumes (Leahlani’s Organic Lychee Oil!) but I haven’t found that deep sultry scent that I typically reach for.


9. How has this journey changed your overall health?

I’m a lot more conscious about what I’m putting into my body and my environment.

I read more labels and look for more natural options whenever possible. I haven’t noticed any drastic changes in my health but my nails and hair seem to be a lot stronger!


10. How you would recommend getting started to non-toxic newbies?

Take it slow. Start with replacing things that you’re running low on.

Rather than repurchasing the old products, opt for clean versions. It’s a process that doesn’t happen overnight.

Read reviews and find out what products would be most beneficial for your skin type and lifestyle. Don’t be afraid to ask other green beauty bloggers for suggestions, we’re happy to help!

Also remember that there are options for every budget. You don’t have to start with the most luxurious brands. There are some amazing indie brands that sell their handmade goodies from sites like Etsy.

It might take a bit of research but there are some serious gems out there for really affordable prices!


11. What is your favorite ingredient?

Oh my! This changes all the time as I continue learning about new ingredients. A forever favorite is raw manuka honey. I love that it’s so beneficial to every skin type out there and will treat both acne and dry skin at the same time (magic!).

My trending favorite right now is papaya! I love how bright and healthy it makes my skin look by gently exfoliating with it’s natural AHAs.

You can find papaya in the One Love Organics Vitamin B Enzyme Cleansing Oil (see Lauren’s review here) , the Odacite Pa+G Serum, and the Eminence Organics Yam & Pumpkin Enzyme Peel. It’s also amazing in smoothies.


12. What is a quote you live by?

“You can’t dance and stay uptight, it’s a supernatural delight.”

I’m pretty sure this quote comes from an old song that was in the movie A Walk To Remember. So random, but it always stuck with me.

I tend to be someone who overthinks things and I often get caught up in my mind. I spent many years of my life in dance classes and dancing has always been something that can take my mind off everything else.

Nowadays it’s more like turning on iTunes and moving the coach to the side of the living room, but it still works!

“You are never given a wish without also being given the power to make it true.” –Richard Bach


13. If you could only leave the house with one product, what would it be?

Facial mist and lip balm. That’s all I ever leave the house with. I’ve never been one to take my makeup with me in my purse, but I will always carry a toner and a lip balm.


14. Where do you see yourself ten years from now?

Hopefully with an awesome family and a fulfilling career.


15. What is one piece of advice you’d tell your 13-year old self?

I have to go with the classic eyebrow answer on this one. Stop the plucking Lauren, you’ll want them back in the future!


16. If you were able to read minds, would you? Why or why not?

I wouldn’t. I find it hard enough trying to turn my own mind off, let alone trying to turn down all the minds around me. Yikes!


17. What is the last thing you Googled?

Portland city guides. I really want to go there this summer so I’m trying to find some good places. Feel free to send me your suggestions 😉


18. What is the most difficult part about blogging?

Probably taking and editing the photos. I love photography and it’s also one of the most fun parts, but it’s finding the time and the right light during the week that causes the issue.


19. What is your favorite part about it?

Meeting all of you! It’s been such a pleasure connecting with other bloggers from all over the world.

I never imagined that I would meet so many talented and kind people from starting a blog. Social media can get such a bad rep but I think if it’s used in a proportional and positive manor, it can be truly amazing.

Hopefully one day we can do a big green-beauty bloggers retreat somewhere and all connect in person.


20. How do you stay positive?

Exercising, spending some time in the sun, good chats with close friends, and fresh fruit.

5 thoughts on “20 Questions with Lauren Burkitt

  1. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: Lately | Dream & Scheme

  2. Thank you SO much for having me on your blog Megan! I’ve enjoyed reading your ’20 Questions’ posts for a long time, can’t wait to see who’s coming next! Sending big smiles 🙂 xo

    Liked by 1 person

Have something to say?

