How I Test Products

It sometimes irritates me when other bloggers test many products at the same time.

How are you to gain an accurate sense of the product and its performance, if you are experimenting with many other formulations simultaneously?

Maybe it’s just the scientific mind in me. It’s like when you are conducting a lab, you need to have control variables to see how the “measured error” behaves.

Similarly, when testing products, I try to keep the rest of my skin regime the same as I know how the products I’m already using work for me.

That way, I know I can give a veritable, honest review.

If thinking in terms of the scientific method, there also has to be a hypothesis. In this case, it would be the product claims.

When testing a product, I focus on how well it delivers on these promises.

However, when I’m selecting products I want to try, I tend to focus on ingredients first and not product claims. It is only during the testing stage that my focus shifts to this.

In an experiment, one must also take notes. In the same way, I always keep a detailed and qualitative (scent, texture, finish, longevity, coverage, etc.) record during the entirety of my testing period.

Another analogy with experimentation that applies to product testing is this: you need to have many trials over an extended period of time.

It also annoys me when bloggers only test a product for only one week, and then write a review. How are you to know how it reacts with your skin long term?

For example, I once read a review on a brightening serum that a blogger had only tested out for about four times. She wrote that it had been an utter dissapointment and that she had seen no results.

Then, I read another review from a different blogger who hadn’t seen any difference until the second week. After that, her skin improved dramatically.

Of course, there could be other factors at play.

But, in my experience I’ve found that my opinion often changes from my initial impressions of a product to when I’ve used it down to its last drop.

I always try to review a product for at least a 3-4 weeks, but preferably more near the 6 week mark.

This way I can fully analyze the product’s effect and write an informative and thorough blog post for my readers.

Again, with an analytical mindset, I try to also account for any other external factors, find the best possible method of execution (i.e. When testing a foundation, is it best applied with fingers, a beauty sponge, or a specific brush?), and try and obtain as much precursor background information (i.e. ingredients, availability, and company ethics) as I can.

5 thoughts on “How I Test Products

  1. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: A Done Deal | Dream & Scheme

  2. I’ve just learnt to disregard certain reviewers as frankly I can’t take their opinions seriously. It depends on the product, with makeup you can often tell within the first use, though I’ll often re-test in different seasons as makeup/skin can behave differently. Cleansers also generally don’t require as much time. Anything claiming to change the skin takes at least 28 days/a skin cycle. It would be great if all reviews could be as thorough.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You make a great point! I’ve actually been noticing this a lot more since I’ve been on Instagram, as I’ll see a photo captioned something like “just got this in the mail” or “first time using this”, and then the full review on the blog a mere couple days or a week later. HUH? Like Liz, I’m not always as lengthy testing body care and makeup, but I do think skincare requires at least 3-4 weeks.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Analytical mindset is key, from decoding the ingredients to the actual testing phase, it surely requires precision, work and time. Makeup and bodycare do require less time for me, but face oils, serums, moisturizers, eye creams take more that 5 weeks. Sometimes depending on the product or the state of my skin, it varies slightly. Environmental factors are also determining. I enjoy rms concealer in the winter, however I can’t use it on my skin in the summer, it’s just too rich. x

    Liked by 1 person

Have something to say?

